Autumn Reading

fullsizeoutput_17b7.jpeg

Autumn is here! Time to cozy up next to the fireplace with a mug of hot cocoa and your favorite books… Oh, wait a second. It's going to be 80 degrees here in Alabama today, so we don't really need fuzzy socks or a fire to keep warm. But the fall is a great time for books! There are so many great new books coming out over the next few months; it's a very exciting time of year! Here are just a few of the great new fiction titles we have in stock at Little Professor.

Time's Convert by Deborah Harkness
Harkness is the author of the the popular and romantic time travel/vampire&witch series, the All Souls Trilogy. The settings are now the American Revolutionary war and modern day Paris and London, and the reader is introduced to several new characters, but also reunited with beloved favorites Matthew and Diana and their children, as well as new characters. Returning readers will love this fantastical, time travel, historical vampire/witch fiction! (Overseas viewers are currently watching the new television series based on the original trilogy with Matthew Goode, and I'm sure this will eventually make its way Stateside as well!)

Lethal White by Robert Galbraith aka JK Rowling
This is the fourth in the Cormoran Strike series, a popular detective series by the author of Harry Potter, JK Rowling. Cormoran and his co-agent, Robin Ellacott, now a partner in the agency, investigate a crime--a child's murder-- committed long ago and witnessed as a child by a now very troubled man. The relationship between Cormoran and his partner, Robin is also fraught, and adds an extra layer to this page turner. This series is very popular in our store and recommended by Drew!

A Forgotten Place by Charles Todd
10th in the Bess Crawford series. At the end of the great War, nurse Bess is in France nursing a group of Welsh soldiers seriously maimed and psychologically wounded in the war. On leave, Bess visits their home village and suddenly finds herself in an enigmatic and dangerous situation involving their captain and a mysterious death. Mysterious historical fiction at its finest!

The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar
I think this powerfully imagined novel might tick all the boxes if you love a good Dickensian style novel, set in London, filled with mystery, a ship captain and his romance with a "courtesan," and a mummified mermaid! This will appeal to fans of Sarah Perrry's The Essex Serpent, Jane Austen, and historical fiction like Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, and Susanna Clark's Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by . I've read nothing but rave reviews on this one! It's a big book at almost 500 pages, but it sounds just perfect for that cool autumn evening read by the fireside! This is Ms Gowar's debut novel, and I'm sure there will be more wonderful things coming in the future from her--and doesn't she have a lovely name?! It sounds so romantic and the perfect name for a novelist of the type!

Labyrinth of the Spirits by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (translated by Lucia Graves)
The conclusion to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books quartet, this is the novel for you if you love books about books. Zafon's first novel in this series, The Shadow of the Wind was a beautifully rendered ode to book loving, and the following books provided more of the same. They can be read as stand-alones, even if you've never read any of his earlier books (although I'd encourage you to do so, since they are so good!). The Shadow of the Wind sold over 15 million copies worldwide, making it one of the best selling books of all time. Zafon is the most widely published Spanish author as well, and his books are mostly set in his home town of Barcelona. Lucia Graves elegantly translates as she has his previous novels. Gothic fare for a dark autumn night.

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan
Shortlisted for this year’s Man Booker Prize, Canadian author Esi Edugyan's novel tells the story of a young runaway slave, who is assisted in his escape by the scientist brother of the man who owns him. The brother aids his escape with a Cloud-cutter, his experimental airship (basically a hot air balloon). This is one I've personally been anticipating, since it sounds a little to me like The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, which was certainly one of the most powerful novels I've read in the last few years. I've just started this one, and already the writing is drawing me in: part adventure novel, part slave narrative, this promises to be one of the best books of the year. Esi Edugyan, the daughter of Ghanaian immigrants, is already a prize winning novelist. Hopefully, this will be the story to make her more of a household name!

Thanks for reading with us! Come visit us soon at Little Professor! We are always happy to help you find a great book.

- Kathleen

Little Professor Homewood